Considering My Capacity

When it comes to my work as an advocate, the special skills that I have would be the ability to persevere toward my end goal. I am also organized and am very good when it comes to writing out what I want to say. There are times when I am writing that I may say something that is going to ruffle feathers, but I am not afraid to speak my mind and be honest. I think the ability to be honest is also a valuable skill to have because people often want to be told in an honest caring manner that something will get done but not lie and say that it will take a shorter amount of time than it really will. I will incorporate all of these skills into my advocacy work because I want to be seen as a caring individual who works hard to see the final result.

I think the knowledge that I have is what I have learned in this class. I also think that it is important for me to never stop learning particularly so that it will help be a better advocate for young children. I think the desire to learn what needs to be done and the ability to do something is really important. I think the fact that I am also a caring individual will go a long way because as someone who advocates for other people and children, it shows that someone who is compassionate is someone that ultimately cares for those that they are striving to help. I think the fact that I have a capacity to be compassionate will go a long way especially when it is backed up by perseverance and tenacity.

I hope that I can grow with the ability to look at the larger picture and not just at the short term. I want to know that I can look at the long term effects that advocacy will work with. I also hope that I can grow and have the ability to be willing to not back down from a fight if I believe strongly enough in something and not want to give up when the fight for change gets too tough. Being able to grow as a person without trying to change the beliefs and values that I hold dear to me is also very important. Basically continue to grow into the type of person that God wants me to be and the advocate that I know that I can be.

4 thoughts on “Considering My Capacity

  1. Great Post. When I think of all of the valuable resources this class has exposed me to, I cannot even begin to imagine what is still left to find. Therefore you are right; this class has offered and an exceptional amount of information that is extremely valuable.

  2. The fact that you are not afraid to speak your mind or say the hard stuff is going to aid you in being a great advocate. Because as an advocate you can not be afraid to speak your mind and stand alone on a topic of your beliefs. I wish you much success on your journey of advocacy.

  3. Great Post! The one word that sticks out to me in your post is persevere. In this field we must be determined to push through every situation. We must also remember that the cases are not about us but, do the right thing for each individual family. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Great Post!! I think this has been one of my favorite classes. I have learned so many different ways to improve my skills as an advocate. I agree there are times as an advocate when you might be the only one standing up for the issue that you are passionate about. Compassion for humanity is very important but there are times when I had to rethink why I am doing this especially when I see parents go back to drugs again and a child is put back in the foster care system again. How do you keep your faith about humanity?

Leave a comment