Profile of a Volunteer

I have volunteered a couple of times but really it has been a very long time since I have really volunteered in a classroom with young children. When I have done some volunteer work, I have volunteered to help watch children many years ago. When I volunteered at the time it was a one time thing and it was for parenting classes. I have also volunteered with child care when a friend of mine was doing his Senior voice recital back when I was in college. It was so that the mother of the young child was able to attend the event.

The work that I have done has impacted others in a positive way because it made sure that the children had someone to look after them when there was no one else around that was willing to do it. It can also be a very selfless act because it means that you have to be willing to give up something that I wanted to do to do something that would make the mother’s life a little easier. I have also helped with grading papers for a third-fifth grade teacher and provided a little extra assistance to her for which she was very grateful.

The take-away that I view from volunteering is that as an advocate, sometimes the job really doesn’t seem all that glamorous and thankless. At the same time, when we as advocates feel like we are not making that big of a difference, we really don’t know the kind of impact that we are making in the lives of young children and their families until who knows when. The passion and the perseverance has to be there when you feel like no real difference is being made. The fact is that you may not be always thanked for your efforts, but they are appreciated by people even if it is not always apparent.

3 thoughts on “Profile of a Volunteer

  1. Great Post!Thanks for sharing your knowledge and experience over the past 7 weeks. I have enjoyed reading your post. After reading this weeks Blog assignment you made me realize that I, more volunteering than I thought or can remember. Your ending statement speaks volume your not always going to get a thank you for your efforts but, your reward is great.

  2. As advocates you never know who you are impacting when you are advocating for a situation but you always hope to have a positive outcome for many families. I think as a professional sometimes it gets hard to volunteer especially if its something that you never did or haven’t done many times before. Hope that you as you go along on your advocacy journey get to experience more volunteer work. Sometimes when I’m at events volunteering you can see the immediate appreciation but you still never know once they live the true impact you have made which encourages me to continue to volunteer. Good Luck!

  3. Volunteering in a child care center is a wonderful experience because you get to see how important the ECE field is. I agree that is not glamourous and there are no pats on your back. You do it because children need someone to believe in them. How was the parenting classes as a volunteer. I thought about becoming an ECE trainer for parents who do not have access to quality training. I think you will be a wonderful advocate and make a difference in the lives you touch.

Leave a comment